Connect with us

2016 PW Awards

2016 PW Awards: Top Ten Matches of the Year



In what was one of the best years ever for professional wrestling our 15 panelists were asked to give us their top ten matches of the year. Here’s what they came up with:

Winner: Sami Zayn vs. Shinsuke Nakamura (NXT Takeover: Dallas, 4.1.16)

2. AJ Styles vs. Shinsuke Nakamura (Wrestle Kingdom 10, 1.4.16)

3. John Cena vs. AJ Styles (Summerslam, 8.21.16)

4. Will Ospreay vs. Ricochet (BOSJ Day 6, 5.27.16)


5. Kenny Omega vs. Tetsuya Naito (G1 Climax B Block Finals, 8.13.16)

6. Hiroshi Tanahashi vs. Kazuchika Okada (Wrestle Kingdom 10, 1.4.16)

7. The Revival vs. D.I.Y. (NXT Takeover: Toronto, 11.19.16)

8. The Miz vs. Cesaro vs. Kevin Owens vs. Sami Zayn (Extreme Rules, 5.22.16)

9. Will Ospreay, Richochet & Matt Sydal vs. The Young Bucks & Adam Cole (PWG BOLA Night 2, 9.3.16)

10. The Addiction vs. The Young Bucks vs. The Motor City Machine Guns ‘Ladder Wars’ (ASE VIII, 9.30.16)

Honorable Mentions: Sexy Star vs. Mariposa ‘No Mas Match’ (Taped – 1.9.16, Air Date – 5.4.16), Kenny Omega vs. Hirooki Goto (G1 Final, 8.4.16), Charlotte vs. Sasha Banks vs. Becky Lynch (WM 32, 4.3.16), Hitokiri vs. Pentagon Dark (Air Date – 11.30.16), Roman Reigns vs. AJ Styles (Extreme Rules, 5.22.16), Kenny Omega vs. Michael Elgin (Dominion, 6.19.16), Adam Cole vs. Kyle O’Reilly (Final Battle, 12.2.16)

Next: Female Wrestler of the Year

image credit –

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.