Connect with us


McGregor stripped, Aldo promoted, Holloway v. Pettis set for interim belt at UFC 206



UFC 206 took a monster blow on the day after Thanksgiving when light heavyweight champion Daniel Cormier (18-1) was pulled from the card due to injury. His 2nd title defense, a rematch against the man he beat to win the then vacated title, Anthony Johnson (22-5), would be put on hold and the UFC would have to scramble for a new headliner for their first visit to Toronto since UFC 165 over three years ago. While rumor had it that a Georges St. Pierre (25-2) return could have still been in play just two week away from the event, that no longer seems to be the case. We now have news that a new title will be on the line. Well, sort of.

Ariel Helwani has reported that the featherweight co-main event between Max Holloway (16-3) and Anthony Pettis (19-5) has not only been promoted to main event status – it will also be for the interim featherweight championship.

It is now official,  Conor McGregor (21-3) will  relinquish his featherweight title and interim champion Jose Aldo (26-2) will be promoted to champion of the division.

McGregor never did defend the title he took from Aldo in just thirteen seconds time last December at UFC 194. Aldo was awarded the interim title at UFC 200 when he bounced back beautifully against Frankie Edgar (21-5-1) taking a unanimous decision victory once again over the former lightweight champion.

The UFC attempted to give Gegard Mousasi (41-6-2) a quick turnaround by slotting him in against Johnson on short notice but Johnson has decided to wait for Cormier to heal up so he can get a crack at his title.

Here is your UFC 206 ‘Holloway vs. Pettis’ card as it stands tonight:

Interim Featherweight Championship Bout
Max Holloway (16-3) vs. Anthony Pettis (19-5)

Welterweight Bout
Donald Cerrone (31-7) vs. Matt Brown (20-15)

Middleweight Bout
Tim Kennedy (18-5) vs. Kelvin Gastelum  (12-2)

Featherweight Bout
Doo Ho Choi (14-1) vs. Cub Swanson (23-7)

Light Heavyweight Bout
Nikita Krylov (21-4) vs. Misha Cirkunov (12-2)

Lightweight Bout
Olivier Aubin-Mercier (8-2) vs. Drew Dober (17-7)

Women’s Strawweight Bout
Valerie Letorneau (8-5) vs. Viviane Pereira (11-0)

Welterweight Bout
Jordan Mein (29-10) vs. Emil Weber Meek (8-2-1)

Lightweight Bout
John Makdessi (14-5) vs. Lando Vannata (8-1)

Lightweight Bout
Rustam Khabilov (20-3) vs. Jason Saggo (12-2)

Bantamweight Bout
Mitch Gagnon (12-3) vs. Matthew Lopez (8-1)

Flyweight Bout
Zach Makovsky (19-7) vs. Dustin Ortiz (15-6)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.